chapel_for-ep-specific-page

Education Portal – French Château Conservation

 

The Chateau De Parthey represents the remarkable history of one family, who have resided here from 1354 to the present. The buildings themselves illustrate the lifestyle of the nobles, exhibit the talents of renowned architects, and bear the marks of WWII.

Further study of this site offers fascinating reading, as do the stories shared during the hands-on session by Marie-Christine Maitre de Tarragon, current owner and steward of the site.

 

CHÂTEAU DE PARTHEY – REFERENCES AND DOCUMENTATION

Château de Parthey’s nomination as Monument Historique (since 2008)

Dates of Construction, Alterations, Rebuilding, Architects involved

  • Château de Parthey. In: Architecture – Mérimée (data base). Edited by Ministère de la culture et de la communication.

On Louis Rouzet, a local architect from Dole, responsible for the 19th century transformations of Château de Parthey which include the construction of the chapel:

  • Rouzet Louis. In: Architecture – Mérimée (data base). Edited by Ministère de la culture et de la communication.

 

HISTORICAL BACKGROUND – READINGS

The Valdahon Family

  • André Badot, Amours et larmes. Chronique d’une famille franc-comtoise: les Le Boeuf de Valdahon (1555-1941), Besançon: Caracter’s, 1996.

On Marquis de Valdahon, Jules César Antoine Joseph Hilaire Le Boeuf de Valdahon, 01/13/1770 (Dole) -12/18/1847 (Monéteau), who planned the transformation of Château de Parthey:

 

HISTORY OF ARCHITECTURE – READINGS

Eugène-Emmanuel Viollet-le-Duc (1814-1879)
The 19th century transformations of Château de Parthey have been influenced by the great restorer and architect of the time, Eugène-Emmanuel Viollet-le-Duc. To demonstrate his influence, some of his most important writings can be consulted here.

Writings by Viollet-le-Duc:

Consult more writings by Viollet-le-Duc at Project Gutenberg:

Readings on Viollet-le-Duc:

 

 

FRENCH CHÂTEAU CONSERVATION ISSUES

coming soon …